No more roadshows; just accept system, Nawaz to PTI


ISLAMABAD, Jul 29:  Prime Minister Nawaz Sharif on Wednesday said that he has no objection over the presence of Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaf (PTI) lawmakers in the National Assembly against whom Muttahida Qaumi Movement (MQM) and the Jamiat Ulema-e-Islam-F (JUI-F) tabled a resolution for their de-seating the other day.
The PM made these remarks during a meeting of the parliamentary party leaders he chaired in Islamabad this morning. “I have no objection over their presence in parliament but they must accept the system. There shouldn’t be roadshows… everyone should accept and realise importance of the parliament and that Pakistan can’t afford any political confrontation,” a source quoted the prime minister as saying.
The meeting discussed the resolutions submitted by MQM and JUI-F in the National Assembly regarding the issue of de-seating PTI lawmakers who remained absent from the house over 40 days. According to assembly rules, a member who does not attend session continuously for 40 days stands disqualified as member of the house.
A private TV channel reported that the participants of the meeting also discussed the report of judicial commission on alleged rigging in 2013 general election. Talking to newsmen after the meeting, Minister for Information Pervaiz Rashid said that all political parties have lauded and accepted the report of the judicial commission.
The prime minister has assigned the task to federal ministers Senator Ishaq Dar, Saad Rafique, Senator Pervaiz Rashid and Prime Minister’s Adviser Irfan Siddiqui to hold meetings with the MQM and the JUI-F leadership to persuade them to withdraw their resolutions from the National Assembly.
To a question, he said that the matter regarding resignations of the PTI members would be resolved within the parameters of the constitution. Syed Khursheed Shah, Maulana Fazalur Rehman, Rasheed Gudial, Mahmood Khan Achakzai, Ejaz ul Haq, Sirajul Haq, Ghulam Ahmad Bilour, Khalid Maqbool Siddiqui, Mushahid Hussain Syed and other attended the meeting.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here