Most delayed ‘population, housing census’ begins in Pakistan


KARACHI, Mar 15: The first phase of sixth national housing and population census begins across the country today (Wednesday) after 19 years that will continue till 15th of next month.
In the first phase, the census will be conducted in sixteen districts of Punjab, eight districts of Sindh, fourteen districts of Khyber Pakhtunkhwa, fifteen districts of Balochistan, five districts of Azad Jammu and Kashmir, five districts of Gilgit Baltistan and one agency of the Federally Administered Tribal Areas (FATA).

The first phase would continue till April 15 in 63 districts across the country and one agency of FATA. The second phase will start from April 25 to May 25.

Housing census would be continued for three days while from March 18, population census will get start.

In Punjab, provincial Chief Statistician Arif Anwar has officially inaugurated the census by writing 001 on Punjab Assembly’s building. Deputy Speaker Sher Ali Gorchani was also present on the occasion.

The districts to be covered in Punjab during the first phase of census include Jhang, Chiniot, Faisalabad, Toba Tek Singh, Dera Ghazi Khan, Rajanpur, Layyah, Muzaffargarh, Lahore, Hafizabad, Narowal, Sialkot, Vehari, Bahawalpur, Pakpattan and Attock.

President Mamnoon Hussain has formally inaugurated the national census process in Karachi by marking census number 001 at the State Guest House.

In Sindh, the census would be conducted in districts of Karachi West, Karachi South, Karachi East Korengi, Karachi Central, Malir, Hyderabad and Ghotki.

The districts to be covered in the first phase of the census in Khyber Pakhtunkhwa include Peshawar, Mardan, Swabi, Charsadda, Nowshera, Laki Marwat, Dera Ismail Khan, Hangu, Abbotabad, Haripur, Mansehra, Battagram, Turghar.

In Balochistan, Commissioner Statistics Pasand Khan Buledi inaugurated the census process in Quetta. About seven thousand personnel have been deputed for conducting census process in the province.

The districts to be covered in the first phase of the census in Balochistan include Awaran, Quetta, Lesbela, Dera Bughti, Kohlu, Musakhel, Washuq, Kharan, Kalat, Jafarabad, Naseerabad, Pishin, Noshki, Lehri.

For the census 2017, there are 365 charges in Karachi which are divided into 2401 circles. The circles have been further divided into 14550 blocks. In Lahore, there are 184 charges, 867 circles and 6,746 blocks for the census.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here