Govt must public ‘DawnLeaks’ report in adherence of RTI Law: CPNE demands 

CPNE reelects President, General Secretary for another term on historic best performance 
KARACHI: The Council of Pakistan Newspaper Editors (CPNE) held its annual general meeting and elections on Wednesday and demanded the government to public  ‘DawnLeaks’ investigation report in adherence of RTI Law.

Zia Shahid and Ejazul Haq
was reelected as the body’s president and general secretary for another term in recognition of their untiring historic efforts while Shaheen Qureshi was elected as senior Vice President for the year 2017-2018.
The house showed warm gesture through unstopped clapping of hands on presentation of annual performance report by the Secretary General, Ejazul Haq and annual financial report by Ghulam Nabi Chandio and approved.
The process of electing 44-member standing committee had also been completed before the annual election of office-bearers.
Newly elected office-bearers, 44 standing committee members vows to safeguard freedom of press and perform for the promotion, benefit of the industry specially small and medium sized newspapers.
President Mamnoon Hussain in his message also felicitated the newly elected CPNE office-bearers and said they will help to strengthen CPNE. In a separate message, PM Nawaz Sharif felicitated and said print media plays an important role in promoting democracy and freedom of expression.
Aamir Mehmood was elected as CPNE Sindh vice president, Anwar Sajdi as Balochistan vice president, Tahir Farooq as Khyber-Pakhtunkhwa vice president, Rehmat Ali Razi as Punjab vice president and Mehtab Khan as Islamabad vice president.
Haroon Shah, Ghulam Nabi Chandio, Mushtaq Qureshi and Kazam Khan were elected as CPNE joint secretary, finance secretary and information secretary respectively.
The standing committee members includes Ejazul Haq (Managing Editor Daily Express), Dr Jabbar Khatak (Chief Editor Daily Awami Awaz), Hamid Hussain Abidi (Editor Daily Amn Karachi), Abdul Rehman Mangrio (Editor In chief Daily Indus Post), Ghulam Nabi Chandio (Chief Editor Daily Pak), Ilyas Shakir (Editor Daily Qaumi Akhbar), Wamiq Zuberi (Daily Business Recorder), Shaheen Qureshi (Daily Jang), Amin Yousaf (Daily Nawa-e-Waqt), Umer Mujeeb Shami (Daily Pakistan), Arif Nizami (Daily Pakistan Today), Zia Shahid (Daily Khabrain), Jamil Ather Kazi (Daily Tijarat), Naveed Chaudhry (Daily City 42), Kazam Khan (Daily Times), Mehtab Khan (Daily Ausaf), Aslam Khan (Inter News Agency), Waseem Ahmed (Daily Awam), Sidique Baloch (Daily Balochistan Express), Anwar Sajidi (Daily Intekhab), Tahir Farooq (Daily Itehad), Haroon Shah (Daily Wahdat), Mumtaz Sadiq (Daily Azadi Swat), Muhammad Younus Mehar (Daily Halchal), Javed Mehar Shamsi (Daily Kaleem), Bashir Memon (Daily Nijat), Syed Muhammad Munir Jilani (Daily Paigham), Humayon Tariq (Daily Business Report), Mumtaz Tahir (Daily Aftab), Tanveer Shaukat (Daily Gharib), Faisal Zahid Malik (Daily Pakistan Observer), Syed Mumtaz Shah (Daily Mashriq Lahore), Muzafar Ejaz (Daily Jasarat), Khalilur Rehman (Daily Islam), Abdul Khaliq Marshal (Online News Agency), Mushtaq Ahmed Qureshi (Monthly Nai Ufaq), Aamer Mahmood (Monthly Kiran), Dr Waqar Yosuf Azeemi (Rohani Digest), Rafiq Afghan (Daily Ummat), Kazi Asad Abid (Daily Ibrat), Rehmat Ali Razi (Daily Taqat), Ikram Sehgal (Monthly Defence Journal), Imtiaz Alam (South Asian Journal) and Zahida Abbasi (Nau Sijj) on women seat.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here