Home Pakistan Opposition fails to reach consensus on joint candidate for PM election

Opposition fails to reach consensus on joint candidate for PM election


ISLAMABAD: Meeting of opposition parties presided over by Opposition Leader in National Assembly Khursheed Shah concluded without reaching consensus on joint candidate for prime minister election for the second time.

Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaf (PTI) leader Shah Mahmood Qureshi, Awami Muslim League (AML) Chief Sheikh Rashid, Pakistan Muslim League-Quaid’s (PML-Q) Pervez Elahi and Jamat-e-Islami’s (JI) Tariqullah attended the session.

Muttahida Qaumi Movement Pakistan (MQM) refused to participate in the meeting as it pledged conditional support to the ruling party.

However, the opposition parties will again hold meeting at 2.45pm for the same purpose.

On the other hand, National Assembly is meeting today to elect a new prime minister after Supreme Court of Pakistan disqualified Nawaz Sharif over a corruption scandal.

President Mamnoon Hussain has summoned a special National Assembly session today (Tuesday) at 3:00 pm to elect the new leader of the house.

The ruling Pakistan Muslim League-Nawaz (PML-N) has nominated former state minister Shahid Khaqan Abbasi as interim prime minister for 45 days while PTI backed Sheikh Rashid’s name, but could not gain the support of any other party apart from PML-Q.

The Pakistan People’s Party (PPP) asked its leaders, Khursheed Shah and Naveed Qamar to file their nomination papers whereas MQM named Kishwar Zehra, the only woman participant, to contest in voting for PM.

JI’s Sahibzada Tariqullah too has submitted the nomination papers.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here