PPP, PTI nominees win Senate top seats


Jamil Ahmed
Senior Staff Reporter
KARACHI/ISLAMABAD: The Joint nominees of Pakistan Peoples Party (PPP) and Pakistan Tehreek e Insaf (PTI) has defeated ruling Pakistan Muslim League-Nawaz (PML-N) lost the race to appoint their favoured candidates to the top Senate slots as Sadiq Sanjrani from Balochistan, was appointed Senate chairman on Monday.

Sanjrani secured 57 votes out of possible 103 votes and was administered oath by presiding officer Sardar Yaqub Khan.
Sanjrani, an independent, had been backed by Pakistan Peoples Party (PPP), Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaf (PTI) and the Muttahida Qaumi Movement-Pakistan (MQM-P).
According to reports, Sanjrani also had the support of independent senators elected from the Federally Administered Tribal Areas (FATA)
PPP’s Saleem Mandviwalla was elected as the deputy chairman and sworn in by Senate Chairman Sadiq Sajrani . Mandviwalla was contesting against government-backed Usman Khan Kakar from PkMAP and secured 54 votes.
Senator Mandviwalla was elected to the upper house of parliament on November 8, 2012 on a General Seat from Sindh province on a Pakistan People’s Party Parliamentarians (PPPP) ticket. He was chairperson to the Senate Standing Committee on Finance, Revenue, Economic Affairs, Statistics and Privatisation. He has previously served as the Federal Finance Minister, Minister of State for Finance Division, and President of the Board of Investment.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here